First 12-Team College Football Playoff Schedule Set

The 2024 college football season will bring a new look to conferences and an expanded way to crown a national champion.

The College Football Playoff released the schedule for its first 12-team playoff on Wednesday. The action kicks off on Friday, December 20 and a champion will be crowned in Atlanta on Monday, January 20. The games can be seen on ABC, ESPN and TNT.

The CFP starts on a Friday evening before a Saturday filled with three playoff games. All of these competitions will take place at campus locations.

The quarterfinals then begin on December 31 (a Tuesday) with the Fiesta Bowl at 6:30 PM Central on ESPN, before an action-packed New Year’s Day, starting with the Peach Bowl at noon on ESPN, the Rose Bowl at 4 PM on ESPN and the Sugar Bowl at 7:45 PM on ESPN.

The semifinals (where this tournament used to start) will next take place on January 9 and 10 on ESPN, first with the Orange Bowl at 6:30 PM before the Cotton Bowl starting the next day at 6:30 PM. Both games will also appear on ESPN.

That’s all leading up to the title game at 6:30 PM on January 20, another game that will be on ESPN.

The Cowboys may have their best chance ever to make the CFP. Not only do the Cowboys return most of their production from last season, which led the Pokes to ten wins, but there are more spots up for grabs and the Big 12 loses Oklahoma and Texas – two teams that combine for five of the Big 12’s six CFP appearances.

The Expanded Playoff has slightly different requirements for entry. The field will consist of the five highest-ranked conference champions, which, given the Pac-12 is turning into a ghost town, would mean it would be tough for the Big 12 champion. not to get in. These conference champions are joined by the next seven highest-ranked teams. The four highest-ranked conference champions will be seeded Nos. 1 through 4 and receive a bye in the first round. That means if the Cowboys could win the Big 12 this year, they would have a good shot at going straight to the quarterfinals.

Seeds 5 through 8 would host seeds 9 through 12 in the first round, meaning that if the Pokes received an at-large bid, they could host a match at Boone Pickens Stadium or go to another location.

The long summer is just beginning, however, as the Cowboys are about three months away from opening their 2024 season. OSU enters the year with a team well-versed in winning playoff games at the FCS level. The Pokes host back-to-back FCS national champion South Dakota State on August 31 at Boone Pickens Stadium.

Date Game Time (CT) TV
Fri. the 20th of December First round 19:00 ABC & ESPN
Fed up. 21st of December First round 11 hours TNT
First round 3:00 PM TNT
First round 19:00 ABC & ESPN
Tuesday, December 31 Quarterfinal (Fiesta Bowl) 6:30 PM ESPN
Wednesday January 1 Quarterfinal (Peach Bowl) Afternoon ESPN
Quarterfinal (Rose Bowl) 16.00 hours ESPN
Quarterfinals (Sugar Bowl) 7:45 PM ESPN
Do. January 9 Semi-final (Orange Bowl) 6:30 PM ESPN
Friday January 10 Semi-final (Cotton Bowl) 6:30 PM ESPN
Mon. January 20 National Championship 6:30 PM ESPN