Barfield named vice president of MMSA – The Vicksburg Post

Barfield named vice president of MMSA

Published 3:35 pm Tuesday, July 9, 2024

A new executive committee, two at-large board members, and a directors’ representative have been elected to the Mississippi Main Street Association (MMSA) Board of Directors to lead the statewide community and economic development organization’s efforts for 2024-25.

Among them are President of the Warren County Board of Supervisors Kelle Barfield, who will serve as vice president. Barfield is also the owner of Lorelei Books and Delta Warren Properties in Vicksburg.

As vice president, Barfield will transition to the role of president of the association in the coming year.

“Mississippi Main Street is an important network of placemakers who transform our downtown areas while strengthening the overall economy of small towns in our state,” Barfield said. “In my time on the board of directors, I have seen so many best practices from Mississippi Main Street affiliates across the state that can enhance downtown Vicksburg.”

Barfield said she is excited for the future of MMSA, as well as for what the organization continues to do for local Main Street programs like Vicksburg’s.

“Now, it’s our time to shine as Vicksburg will host hundreds of Main Street directors from Mississippi, Arkansas and Louisiana in September. And with our city’s bicentennial celebration kicking off in January, I know that our Vicksburg Main Street Director Kim Hopkins and our local board of directors will ensure that downtown businesses and activities showcase our city for residents and visitors.”

Chris Hinton of Ridgeland has been elected to serve as MMSA board president for 2024-25. Hinton currently serves as community development manager for Entergy Mississippi.

“As president of the Mississippi Main Street Association, I believe in the power of community. Together, we revitalize our downtowns, preserve our rich history, and create vibrant spaces that inspire community pride and progress for generations to come,” Hinton said.

The additional 2024-25 MMSA executive officers include: Treasurer Chance McDavid, project director of the John C. Stennis Institute of Government & Community Development in Starkville; and Past President Marlo Dorsey, executive director of Visit Hattiesburg.

Newly elected at-large board members are Suzy Bowman of New Albany, who serves as director of Mississippi Programming for Junior Achievement, and Jim Rasberry of Laurel, who is with Rasberry Financial Services and managing partner of Cannery Row.

Billye Jean Stroud, director of New Albany Main Street, has also been elected as a new directors’ representative to serve District 3 by the directors of the 48 designated Main Street programs in Mississippi. She joins Cynthia Sutton, director of Ocean Springs Chamber – Main Street – Tourism Bureau who represents District 1, and Lisa Klutts, director of West Point Clay County Community Growth Alliance, who represents District 2.

Board members continuing to serve on the state board include: Michelle Jones, owner of The Cottage Industry in Starkville; Tomeka Durr-Wiley, commercial development project manager at Mississippi Power in Gulfport; Mandy Hegwood, vice president of Neel-Schaffer, Inc. in Laurel; Brent Fairley, senior vice president/market president at Hancock Whitney Bank in Gulfport; Brad Reeves, attorney at Reeves, Gentry & Vitart, PLLC in Jackson; Jean Kelly, director of communications and public relations at Staplcotn in Greenwood; Chip Johnson, mayor of the city of Hernando; Steve Kelly, board member emeritus; Ken P’Pool, board member emeritus; Meredith Massey, chief of preservation planning at the Mississippi Department of Archives & History; Leah Kemp, director of the Fred Carl Jr. Small Town Center; and Tim Climer, manager at the Mississippi Development Authority.